No history making of King Fed

Viva España again. Another good news for Spanish sports when Rafael Nadal beats Roger Federer in 5 sets to win Wimbledon.

Caught the whole game live on TV. A 7 hour affair including rain breaks. Never knew that tennis was so compelling. Well, this game has to rank up there as one of the greatest I’m sure. 2 amazing atheletes, so strong physically and mentally, none deserves to lose actually. Kinda disappointed that Federer lost, I supported him since he plays a more beautiful game and wears a gayish cardigan. But alas, he got OWNED and in his own backyard somemore. Looks like the wound inflicted on him during the French Open kinda affected him, he lost his composure making only 1 out of more than 10 break points. If only he could take another 1 or 2 of these important points, especially during the 2nd set, then he might have won it in 4.

Kudos to Nadal though. Amazing bullet-speed forehand and his backhand this time really impressed a lot. Time after time, when Federer thought he had Nadal on the backfoot with his backhand, he answered with a wonderful crosscourt power shot. All thanks to his big biceps, he is gonna become Popeye the Sailor at this rate, and just maybe, the best tennis player of his generation.

I shall aspire to train to have such biceps too lol. Speaking of muscles, take a look at this kid.

(image courtesy of Straits Times)

This kid, Kang Yee Cher, is a manly 9 years old. Yes, you don’t have to rub your eyes again, he is 9 years old only. Look at the muscles he have. I am just a wussy (and practically everyone else) at 9 years old. He can probably beat me in arm wrestling if we have a competition now too. Amazing kid. Look at how small the kid behind him in the picture is. That is what I will call a 9 year old though.

A Cambodian-born Singaporean, he is smashing all records in the 100m and 200m races in his age group. And many people are crying foul, accusing that he is not 9 years old, or saying that he should be competing with older kids.

Parent A: This kid is same age as my son, are you kidding me?

Parent B: Can’t be la, he so bigger size than my boy boy. Where got fair?

Parent A: Ya la, cannot let my son be demoralized. I wan complain to MOE.

Parent B: Not enough, muz also complain to MP. I tink he eat drugs, do they do urine test huh? Muz check u noe, he sure cheat one. Ban him from racing wif my boy boy.

Parent A: Later I call my loyal, sue the organizer. Waste my boy boy time, he cant get number 1. Boy boy come, mummy find you another sport where you can become number 1 k?

Applause! I still remember my Singlish. Back to the story, with the blind accusations (be it true of false), some people are traumatising the child and his family. Trying to make him feel very Naruto eh, where no one accepts him. Come on, please wake up your idea. This may be the most precocious talent that Singapore track and field may have since…i cant think of a name… who is the last great track and field athelete in Singapore anyway? C Kunalun? Cant think of a name. And no disrespect to the few good up and coming ones include Stefen Tseng and Calvin Kang. But this 9 year old can become a world beater if he keeps it up. Still a long way to go.

2 Comments

  1. What an epic five set match by the two titans of tennis. My eyes were glued to this marathon for 4 hours and 48 minutes! This was the greatest and perhaps the best quality tennis I have ever witnessed in any tournament. Congrats to Nadal for taking down the great Federer.

  2. Seriously, remarkable site design! Just how very long were . learn songs on guitaryou posting intended for? you’re making blogging and site-building start looking uncomplicated. The full search within your web site is excellent, and also the written content!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment